Appointments - Current Affairs for February, 2015

Appointments Current Affairs for February, 2015

Month wise coverage of Appointments Current Affairs helps you improve your general knowledge and prepare for all competitive exams like IBPS, Bank PO, SBI PO, RRB, RBI, LIC, Specialist Officer, Clerk, SSC, UPSC, Railway etc. This section is updated daily with the most important events.

Preparing Appointments Current Affairs February, 2015

1. Read the most important Appointments Current affairs and facts here. 2. Take practice test of our Appointments MCQ and Objective type questions. 3. Clear any quiz, GK, job interview or competitive exam on current affairs.
  • Month & Year   
▼ Kahstrapati Shivaji appointed CMD of SIDBI   [02-27-15]

He is a 1986 batch IAS officer and was currently Principal Secretary (Expenditure), Finance Department in Maharashtra government.

▼ Tapan Misra takes over as Director of Space Applications Centre   [02-24-15]

Mr Tapan Misra was awarded Hari Om Ashram Prerit Vikram Sarabhai research Award in 2004 and ISRO Merit award in 2008 for his contribution to the development of SAR technology.

▼ Balasubramanium Venkatramani appointed MD and CEO of Multi Commodity Exchange   [02-24-15]

He succeeded Manoj Vaish. He was Chief Business Officer of Bombay Stock Exchange (BSE).

▼ Ashton Carter appointed new US Defence Secretary   [02-24-15]

He will succeed Chuck Hagel.

▼ Pramod Asthana appointed head of new SIT committee to investigate anti-Sikh riots   [02-24-15]

He is a 1986-batch senior IPS officer. Other two members in the SIT are Rakesh Kapoor, a retired judge and Kumar Gyanesh, Additional Deputy Commissioner of Police (ADCP) in Delhi.

▼ Krishna Chaudhary appointed new ITBP Border Guard Force chief   [02-24-15]

He succeeded Subhas Goswami. He is a 1979-batch Bihar cadre IPS officer.

▼ M. Ravindran appointed chairman of Indraprastha Gas Limited   [02-24-15]

He will succeed K K Gupta.

▼ Ajaypal Singh Banga appointed Member of Advisory Committee of ACTPN   [02-24-15]

His appointment was announced by the US President Barack Obama. Presently, Banga is President and CEO of MasterCard since 2009.

▼ Dr. M. O Garg takes charge as DG (CSIR) on 5thFebruary 2015   [02-23-15]

Dr. Garg, an outstanding chemical engineer, has contributed significantly in bringing together CSIR and the petroleum industry with a focus on indigenization of core technologies in this area of strategic importance to the country.

▼ New member Traffic Railway Board Ajay Shukla takes charge   [02-23-15]

He is a senior officer of 1979 batch of Indian Railway Traffic Service. He has rich and varied experience of working on several important posts in the Indian Railways, like Chief Passenger Traffic Manager and Chief Safety Officer, Northern Railway; Divisional Railway Manger, Dhanbad, East Central Railway; Chief Operations Manager, North Western Railway and South East Central Railway; Additional General Manager, East Central Railway.

▼ Air Marshall Jagit Singh Kler appointed DG(IS) of IAF   [02-23-15]

He was commissioned into the Helicopter stream of the IAF on 13 December 1980 and was promoted to the rank of Air Marshal and assumed the appointment of Director General (Inspection & Safety) on 02 February 15.

▼ L. C. Goyal appointed new Home Secretary on 4thFebruary 2015   [02-23-15]

He is a 1979-batch IAS officer of the Kerala cadre. Before this appointment, he was the Rural Development Secretary. He succeeded Anil Goswami.

▼ Dr. Nachiket Mor Committee appointed to evaluate payment bank applications   [02-23-15]

He is a Director of Central Board, RBI.

▼ Madhusudan Prasad appointed new urban development secretary on 3rdFebruary 2015   [02-23-15]

He is an IAS Officer of 1981 batch belonging to Haryana cadre was Special Secretary in the Ministry of Commerce before moving over to new ministry.

▼ Kanagasabapathy Sripavan appointed CJ of Sri Lanka   [02-23-15]

Judge Kanagasabapathy Sripavan, who is also the first member of the minority Tamil group to take on the top legal job in decades, was sworn in on 30th Jan’15.

▼ Dr Nandita Chatterjee takes over as new HUPA Secretary on 2ndFebruary 2015   [02-23-15]

She is an IAS Officer of 1980 batch belongs to West Bengal Cadre and has served in different capacities in the state and central governments and international organisations like the UNDP and WHO.

▼ Justice G. P. Mathur Committee formed to investigate Anti-Sikh riots in Delhi   [02-23-15]

The committee has recommended constitution of an SIT for reinvestigation the riots. The anti-Sikh riots were triggered after former Prime Minister Indira Gandhi was assassinated by on 31 October 1984.