10 Solar Zones in India till 2020-2021

Q.  How many Solar Zones is India planning till 2020-2021?
- Published on 28 Dec 16

a. 15
b. 8
c. 10
d. 20

The Indian Ministry of New and Renewable Energy (MNRE) has moved forward with its plan to develop 10 special Solar Zones designed to accelerate the development of large-scale solar PV capacity in the country.

Eyeing 2022’s 100 GW of solar PV target, the Indian ministry has sanctioned the implementation of these zones, which will each cover approximately 10,000 hectares of government-owned or privately owned wasteland, uncultivable land or fallow land in one or more than one patches.

The purpose of each Solar Zone is to act as a flagship demonstration facility highlighting the efficacy and affordability of solar power, with the aim being to encourage project developers and investors to pour more funds and effort into India’s growing solar industry.

Each Zone will enable states to attract significant investment and create employment opportunities while also contributing towards meeting Renewable Purchase Obligations (RPO).

Post your comment / Share knowledge

Enter the code shown above:
(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above image, reload the page to generate a new one.)