12 special courts for trying tainted MP, MLA leaders

Q.  Union Government has framed a scheme for setting up how many special courts to fast track criminal cases against tainted MP and MLA leaders?
- Published on 15 Dec 17

a. 12
b. 13
c. 14
d. 15

12 special courts for trying tainted MP, MLA leadersThe Union Government has framed a scheme to set up 12 Special Courts for a year to fast-track the trial of criminal cases against 1,581 MPs and MLAs.

This decision was conveyed by Government to Supreme Court and is intended to end inordinate delay in prosecution of politicians in criminal cases.

The court had directed the government that aim of the scheme to achieve this must be disposing of 1,581 criminal cases involving political persons within a time frame of one year.

The apex court was hearing a PIL filed by advocate Ashwini Kumar Upadhyay. The petitioner is seeking a lifelong ban on convicted politicians from contesting elections.

The Scheme: Know More
  • Initially, 12 courts would be constituted.
  • Two special courts will handle cases against 228 MPs and remaining 10 courts will be set up in 10 states viz. Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Kerala, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Tamil Nadu, Telangana, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal.
  • These 10 states have more than 65 MLAs booked for criminal acts.
  • In states where there are less than 65 cases, the cases will be sent to existing fast track courts with the Supreme Court approval.
  • The number of courts has been calculated on basis of 11th Finance Commission analysis which mandates that one such court can dispose of 165 cases per annum.
  • The scheme is silent on special judicial forum to hear criminal cases against 44 Rajya Sabha MPs and also on which court will hear them.

Post your comment / Share knowledge

Enter the code shown above:
(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above image, reload the page to generate a new one.)