Abstraction phase is not available in SDLC - Software Specification & Measurement

Q.  Find out which phase is not available in SDLC?
- Published on 22 Jul 15

a. Coding
b. Testing
c. Maintenance
d. Abstraction

ANSWER: Abstraction


  • Nirja Shah   -Posted on 05 Oct 15
    - It is the act of representing essential features without including the background details or explanations.
    - In the computer science and software engineering domain, the abstraction principle is used to reduce complexity and allow efficient design and implementation of complex software systems.
    - Some areas of software design and implementation where the abstraction principle is applied include programming languages (mainly in object-oriented programming languages), specification languages, control abstraction, data abstraction and the architecture of software systems.

    - Abstraction is not a phase of SDLC.

    - SDLC has six phases, they are as follows:

    1. Requirement gathering and analysis
    - In this phase the business requirements are gathered.
    - This phase is the main focus of the project managers and stake holders.
    - Meetings with managers, stake holders and users are held in order to determine the requirements like; Who is going to use the system? How will they use the system? What data should be input into the system? What data should be output by the system?
    - These general questions are answered during this phase.
    - After gathering these requirements they are analyzed for their validity and the possibility of incorporating the requirements in the system to be development is also studied.
    - Finally, a Requirement Specification document is created which serves the purpose of guideline for the next phase of the model.

    2. Design
    - In this phase the system and software design is prepared from the requirement specifications which were studied in the first phase.
    - System Design helps in specifying hardware and system requirements and also helps in defining the overall system architecture.
    - The system design specifications serve as input for the next phase of the model.

    3. Implementation / Coding
    - On receiving system design documents, the work is divided in modules/units and actual coding is started.
    - This phase is important for the developers as it is his duty to do the coding properly.
    - This is the longest phase of the software development life cycle.

    4. Testing
    - After the code is developed it is tested against the requirements to make sure that the product is actually solving the needs addressed and gathered during the requirements phase.
    - During this phase unit testing, integration testing, system testing, acceptance testing are done.

    5. Deployment
    - After successful testing the product is delivered / deployed to the customer for their use.

    6. Maintenance
    - Once when the customers starts using the developed system then the actual problems comes up and needs to be solved from time to time.
    - This process where the care is taken for the developed product is known as maintenance.

Post your comment / Share knowledge

Enter the code shown above:
(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above image, reload the page to generate a new one.)