Affiliation of Norway to International Organization

Q.  Which of the following statements is/are correct about Norway?

1. It is a member of EU.
2. It is member of NATO.
3. It is a member European Economic Area.
4. It is not a member of Antarctic Treaty System.
5. It is not a member Schengen Area.

- Published on 02 Nov 15

a. 1,2,3,5
b. 1,3,5
c. 2,3,4
d. All

ANSWER: 2,3,4
Norway is not a member state of the European Union (EU), it is closely associated with the Union through its membership in the European Economic Area (EEA), in the context of being a European Free Trade Association (EFTA) member.
Schengen Area encompasses most EU States, except for Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Ireland, Romania and the United Kingdom.
However, Bulgaria and Romania are currently in the process of joining the Schengen Area.
Of non-EU States, Iceland, Norway, Switzerland and Liechtenstein have joined the Schengen Area.

Post your comment / Share knowledge

Enter the code shown above:
(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above image, reload the page to generate a new one.)