Agriculturalist RR Hanchinal wins award

Q.  Who won the sixth MS Swaminathan Award?
- Published on 18 Apr 17

a. Rayappa Ramappa Hanchinal
b. VR Prasad
c. Ram Chet Chaudhary
d. Brahma Singh

ANSWER: Rayappa Ramappa Hanchinal
Chairperson of the Protection of Plant Varieties and Farmers’ Rights Authority, New Delhi, Rayappa Ramappa Hanchinal, has been chosen for the sixth Dr. M.S. Swaminathan Award.

This is of the retired Indian Council for Agricultural Research Employees’ Association and Nuziveedu Seeds Limited.

The Swaminathan award, conferred biennially on eminent Indian scientists who worked on Indian agriculture and allied sectors, carries a cash prize of INR. 2 lakh, a medal and citation.

Dr. Hanchinal had earlier served as Vice-Chancellor of the University of Agricultural Sciences at Dharwad in Karnataka.

He has been associated with the Government of Indonesia as an advisor for development of field crop research and instrumental in organising commercial seed industry in West Africa while serving as seed production specialist for USAID and ICRISAT.

President of the association M. V. R. Prasad said there were 21 nominations for the award which were scrutinised by a selection committee of six members.

Post your comment / Share knowledge

Enter the code shown above:
(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above image, reload the page to generate a new one.)