Air Quality index (AQI) has eight pollutants

Q.  Which of the following pollutants are included to measure Air Quality index?

1) Sulphur dioxide.
2) Carbon Dioxide.
3) Carbon monoxide

- Published on 09 Feb 16

a. Only 1 and 3
b. Only 2 and 3
c. Only 1and 2
d. All of the Above

ANSWER: Only 1 and 3
  • In India, there are six AQI categories, namely Good, Satisfactory, Moderately polluted, Poor, Very Poor, and Severe.
  • The AQI considers eight pollutants (PM10, PM2.5, NO2, SO2, CO, O3, NH3, and Pb)
  • Cities in North India have air 2-3 times worse than those in South.
  • Bengaluru had the cleanest air among those studied.

Post your comment / Share knowledge

Enter the code shown above:
(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above image, reload the page to generate a new one.)