Alexis Tsipras Sworn in as Greek PM for second time

Q.  Which party in Greek national elections has won the mandate to form government for the second time in 2015, on 21st September 2015?
- Published on 22 Sep 15

a. Left wing Syriza party
b. Far Right Golden Dawn
c. New Democracy
d. Nationalist Independent Greeks

ANSWER: Left wing Syriza party
Alexis Tsipras took oath as the Greek PM following a decisive victory in the Greek early national elections for his left wing Syriza party. Earlier, Tsipras had served as PM between January and August 2015 and at 41, he dominates Greek Politics. He will renew his pro-European coalition with the small, right-wing populist Independent Greeks (ANEL) party, which beat opinion polls to clear the three per cent threshold required for representation in parliament. The new government will have a small majority of just five seats, but, as per Tsipras, is aiming to see out a four-year mandate.

Post your comment / Share knowledge

Enter the code shown above:
(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above image, reload the page to generate a new one.)