Aruna Sundararajan appointed next DoT secretary

Q.  Who has been appointed the new DoT secretary on May 10, 2017?
- Published on 15 May 17

a. PK Purwar
b. Sadhana Dixit
c. Aruna Sundararajan
d. None of the above

ANSWER: Aruna Sundararajan
Aruna Sundararajan appointed next DoT secretaryAruna Sundararajan was on 10 May 2017 appointed as Secretary of Department of Telecommunications.

However, she will continue to serve as the Secretary for Union Ministry of Electronics and IT (Meity).

Aruna succeeds PK Pujari, who was appointed to the post temporarily in March 2017.

Sundararajan’s Secretary position will also be temporary.

Sundararajan is an IAS officer who played an important role in creating an IT department for the Kerala government in 1998.

She has rich experience in overseeing operations of Kerala Government’s Bharat Broadband Scheme which provides subsidized broadband connections.

Her previous important posts include IT secretary for Kerala Government and CEO of National Common Service Centre.

The post of full time Secretary of DoT has been lying vacant since the removal of J S Deepak from the post in March 2017.

Post your comment / Share knowledge

Enter the code shown above:
(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above image, reload the page to generate a new one.)