Bibek Debroy to chair new Economic Advisory Council

Q.  A new Economic Advisory Council is set to be chaired by which economist?
- Published on 26 Sep 17

a. Rathin Roy
b. Ashima Goyal
c. Surjit Bhalla
d. Bibek Debroy

ANSWER: Bibek Debroy
Bibek Debroy to chair new Economic Advisory CouncilPrime Minister Narendra Modi on 25th Sept 2017 constituted a new Economic Advisory Council, which will seek to address the nation's macroeconomic issues.

The Economic Advisory Council will be chaired by NITI Aayog's Bibek Debroy.

Other members, including renowned economists such as Surjit Bhalla, Rathin Roy and Ashima Goyal, will be part-time members.

These members have earlier served as economic advisors to the nation.

Ratan Watal has been appointed as the Member Secretary of the Council. He will further notify the government of the developments made in the Council.

Earlier, Chief Economic Advisor Arvind Subramanian had hinted that India has to work on its structural reforms and the structure carried out is likely to be a mix of monetary and fiscal policy.

With 18 months left in office for the Modi Government, the move comes about as a measure to boost India's growth.

The earlier economic advisories, Economic Advisory Council to the Prime Minister (PMEAC) and the Planning Commission, had been dismantled

Post your comment / Share knowledge

Enter the code shown above:
(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above image, reload the page to generate a new one.)