Q.  Which of the following are considered as bovines?

1) Yak
2) Cow
3) Buffalo

- Published on 18 May 16

a. 1, 2
b. 2, 3
c. 1, 3
d. All of the above

ANSWER: All of the above
  • The biological subfamily Bovinae includes a diverse group of 10 genera of medium to large-sized ungulates, including domestic cattle, bison, African buffalo, the water buffalo, the yak, and the four-horned and spiral-horned antelopes.
  • Some bovines are – cattle (cow), bison, oxen, buffalo, yak, water buffalo, Gaur, Gayal, etc.
  • In most countries, bovids are used for food. Cattle are eaten almost everywhere, but in parts of India and Nepal they are considered sacred by most Hindus.

Post your comment / Share knowledge

Enter the code shown above:
(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above image, reload the page to generate a new one.)