British started 1st Municipal Corporation in Madras in 1687-88!

Q.  Where was the first Municipal Corporation set up in India?
- Published on 10 Mar 17

a. Bombay
b. Calcutta
c. Madras
d. Surat

ANSWER: Madras
  • ‘Urban Local Government’ in India means the governance of a specific urban area, demarcated for this purpose by the state government, by the people through their elected representatives.

  • There are 8 types of urban local governments in India.

  • 74th Constitutional Amendment Act of 1992 constitutionalised the system of urban government.

  • At the Central level, ‘urban local government’ is dealt by -

    1. Ministry of Urban Development (created as a separate ministry in 1985).

    2. Ministry of Defense (in the case of cantonment boards).

    3. Ministry of Home Affairs (in the case of Union Territories).

    Evolution of urban local bodies -

  • It was during the British rule that the institutions of urban local government originated and developed in modern India.

  • 1687-88 - First municipal corporation in India was set up at Madras.

  • 1726 - Municipal corporations were set up in Bombay and Calcutta.

  • 1870 - Lord Mayo’s Resolution of 1870 on ‘financial decentralization’ envisaged development of local self-government institutions.

  • 1882 - Lord Ripon’s Resolution of 1882 was hailed as the ‘Magna Carta’ of local self-government.

  • He is called as the father of local-self-government in India.

  • 1907 - The Royal Commission on decentralization was appointed in 1907.

  • It submitted its report in 1909. Its chairman was Hob house.

  • 1919 - Under the dyarchical scheme introduced in Provinces by the Government of India Act of 1919, local self-government became a transferred subject under the charge of a responsible Indian minister.

  • 1924 - The Cantonments Act was passed by the Central Legislature.

  • 1935 - Government of India Act of 1935 introduced provincial autonomy scheme. The local self-government was declared a provincial subject.

  • 1989 - In August 1989, the Rajiv Gandhi government introduced the 65th Constitutional Amendment Bill (i.e., Nagarpalika Bill) in the Lok Sabha but it was defeated in Rajya Sabha.

  • 1990 - The National Front Government under V P Singh introduced the bill but it lapsed due to the dissolution of the Lok Sabha.

  • 1991 - P. V. Narasimha Rao’s Government introduced the modified Municipalities Bill in the Lok Sabha in 1991.

  • It finally came out as the 74th Constitutional Amendment Act of 1992.

  • It came into force on 1 June 1993.

  • Significance of the 74th Amendment Act of 1992 -

  • This Act added a new Part 9-A to the Constitution of India entitled ‘The Municipalities’ giving constitutional status to municipalities.

  • It has provisions from Articles 243-P to 243-ZG.

  • It also added a new Twelfth Schedule to the Constitution containing 18 functional items of municipalities.

  • 12th Schedule deals with Article 243-W.

  • It made them justiciable part of the Constitution.

  • The act wanted to revitalize and strengthen the urban governments and make them function effectively as units of local government.


  • Yash Rajput   -Posted on 27 Apr 18

Post your comment / Share knowledge

Enter the code shown above:
(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above image, reload the page to generate a new one.)