CM Mamta Banerjee announces inclusion of 6 more districts to West Bengal

Q.  How many new districts will be added to West Bengal?
- Published on 21 Dec 15

a. 4
b. 5
c. 6
d. 7

Addressing the media after a cabinet meeting, CM Mamta Banerjee said Darjeeling in north Bengal will be bifurcated and a new district called Kalimpong carved out of it. Sidebands currently stretchs across North and South 24 Paraganas districts. Basirhat district will be formed out of North 24 Parganas district while existing Burdwan district will be bifurcated into two- rural and urban. Jhargram under the West Midnapore district will become a separate district while Minik block will be upgraded to subdivisions as will Jhalda and Manbazar in Purulia.

Post your comment / Share knowledge

Enter the code shown above:
(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above image, reload the page to generate a new one.)