Co-operative banks in metropolitan areas are called as?

Q.  Co-operative banks which work at a metropolitan level are called as?
- Published on 17 Feb 17

a. District Central Co-operative Bank
b. State Co-operative Bank
c. Primary Urban Co-operative Bank
d. Primary Agricultural Credit Societies

ANSWER: Primary Urban Co-operative Bank
The structure of cooperative network in India can be divided into 2 broad segments - Urban Cooperative Banks and Rural Cooperative Banks.

Urban Cooperatives can be further divided into scheduled and non-scheduled.

Both the categories are further divided into multi-state and single-state. Majority of these banks fall in the non-scheduled and single-state category.

Banking activities of Urban Cooperative Banks are monitored by RBI.

Registration and Management activities are managed by Registrar of Cooperative Societies (RCS).

These RCS operate in single-state and Central RCS (CRCS) operate in multiple state.

Rural Cooperatives

The rural cooperatives are further divided into short-term and long-term structures.

The short-term cooperative banks are three-tiered operating in different states -
  • State Cooperative Banks - They operate at the apex level in states District.
  • Central Cooperative Banks - They operate at the district levels.
  • Primary Agricultural Credit Societies - They operate at the village or grass-root level.
Likewise, the long-term structures are further divided into -
  • State Cooperative Agriculture and Rural Development Banks (SCARDS) - These operate at state-level.
  • Primary Cooperative Agriculture and Rural Development Banks (PCARDBS) - They operate at district/block level.

    All banking activities are regulated by RBI.

    All management and registration activities are managed by RCS.

Post your comment / Share knowledge

Enter the code shown above:
(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above image, reload the page to generate a new one.)