Council of Ministers - Indian polity and Governance

Q.  Which of the following are included in the Council of Ministers?

1. Cabinet Ministers
2. Ministers of State
3. Ministers without Portfolio
4. Cabinet Secretary

- Published on 10 Jul 15

a. 1,2
b. 1,2,3
c. 1,2,4
d. All of the above

ANSWER: 1,2,3
The Union Council of Ministers exercises executive authority in the Republic of India. It consists of senior ministers, called "Cabinet Ministers", and junior ministers, called "Ministers of State". It is led by the Prime Minister. A smaller executive body, called the Union Cabinet is the supreme decision-making body in India. Only the Prime Minister and ministers of the rank of "Cabinet Minister" are members of the Cabinet. The most senior civil servant in India, called the Cabinet Secretary, leads the Cabinet Secretariat, and provides administrative assistance to the Council of Ministers. Ministers of State are tasked with assisting Cabinet Ministers in their work.

Post your comment / Share knowledge

Enter the code shown above:
(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above image, reload the page to generate a new one.)