Critical is not a state of bug in bug Life Cycle - SDLC

Q.  Which is not the state of bug in bug Life Cycle?
- Published on 19 Oct 15

a. Verified
b. Deferred
c. Critical
d. Postponed

ANSWER: Critical


  • Prajakta Pandit   -Posted on 30 Oct 15

    - Critical is not the state of the bug in bug life cycle.

    - The bug life cycle starts when a defect is found and ends when a defect is closed.

    - The bug life cycle is related to the bug found during testing.

    - The bug has different states in the life cycle, are as follows :

      - New
      - Assigned
     - Open
      - Fixed
      - Pending retest
      - Retest
      - Verified
      - Reopen
      - Closed
      - Duplicate
      - Rejected
      - Deferred
      - Not a bug

    - New : When a defect is logged and posted for the first time. Its state is given as 'New'.

    - Assigned : After the test has posted the bug, the lead of the tester approves that the bug is genuine and he assigns the bug to the developer and the developer team. Its state is given as 'Assigned'.

    - Open : In this state the developer has started analyzing and working on the defect.

    - Fixed : When a developer makes necessary code changes and verifies the changes, then he/she can make the bug status as 'Fixed' and the bug is passed to the testing team.

    - Pending retest : After fixing the defects the developer has given that particular code for retesting to the tester.

    - Retest : At this stage the tester does the retesting of the changed code which developer has given to him to check whether the defect got fixed or not.

    - Verified : The tester tests the bug again after it got fixed by the developer. If the bug is not present in the software, he approves that the bug is fixed and changes the status to 'Verified'.

    - Reopen : If the bug still exists even after the bug is fixed by the developer, the tester changes the status to 'Reopen'.

    - Closed : This state means that the bug is fixed, tested and approved.

    - Duplicate : If the bug is repeated twice, then one bug status is changed to 'Duplicate'.

    - Rejected : If the developer feels that the bug is not genuine, he rejects the bug. Then the state of the bug is changed to 'Rejected'.

    - Deferred : The bug changed to deferred state means the bug is expected to be fixed in next releases. The reasons for changing the bug in this state have many factors.

    - Not a bug : The state given as ' Not a bug ' , if there is no change in the functionality of the application.

Post your comment / Share knowledge

Enter the code shown above:
(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above image, reload the page to generate a new one.)