Election of UNCITRAL member states

Q.  Which of the following is/are true regarding membership of UNCITRAL?

1) UNCITRAL member States are elected by the UN General Assembly.
2) One-third members retire every 2 years.

- Published on 29 Nov 16

a. Only 1
b. Only 2
c. Both 1 and 2
d. Neither 1 nor 2

ANSWER: Only 1
UNCITRAL's original membership comprised 29 states, and was expanded to 36 in 1973, and again to 60 in 2004.

Member states of UNCITRAL are representing different legal traditions and levels of economic development, as well as different geographic regions.

States includes 14 African states, 14 Asian states, 8 Eastern European states, 10 Latin American and Caribbean states, and 14 Western European states.

The Commission member States are elected by the General Assembly.

Membership is structured so as to be representative of the world's various geographic regions and its principal economic and legal systems.

Members of the commission are elected for terms of six years, the terms of half the members expiring every three years.

Post your comment / Share knowledge

Enter the code shown above:
(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above image, reload the page to generate a new one.)