Five doctrines of Jainism - Art & Culture

Q.  Jainism taught five doctrines. Buddha too laid a code of conduct. Which of the following is/are common among them?

1) Do not steal
2) Do not commit Violence
3) Do not use intoxicants
4) Do not indulge in corrupt practices
5) Do not lie

- Published on 18 Aug 15

a. Only 1, 2 and 3
b. Only 1, 2, 3 and 4
c. Only 1, 2 and 5
d. All of the above

ANSWER: Only 1, 2 and 5
3 and 4 are mentioned by Buddha. Mahavira mentions – do not acquire property and brahmacharya. Though Buddha asked monks to follow these two, it was not specifically mentioned in the code of conduct.

Post your comment / Share knowledge

Enter the code shown above:
(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above image, reload the page to generate a new one.)