Fundamental principle of Buddha's teachings represented by Four Noble Truths & Eight fold path

Q.  The  fundamental  principle  of Buddha's teachings are represented by the  Four  Noble Truths and the Eight  fold  path. Which of the following words summarize these?

1) Dhamma
2) SIla
3) Samadhi
4) Prajna

- Published on 18 Aug 15

a. Only 1 and 3
b. Only 2, 3 and 4
c. Only 1, 2and 3
d. All of the above

ANSWER: Only 2, 3 and 4
In some places Buddha is said to have summarized the whole process in three words viz. Sila (Right conduct), Samadhi (Right concentration) and Prajna (Right knowledge). The first two lead to the last one which is the direct cause of nirvana or liberation from the cycle of birth and death. Buddha advocated "The Middle Path" in which extremes are avoided.

Post your comment / Share knowledge

Enter the code shown above:
(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above image, reload the page to generate a new one.)