Gilgit Baltistan: Pak's 5th province

Q.  Pakistan is planning to declare which region as its 5th province?
- Published on 16 Mar 17

a. Khyber Pakhtunwala
b. Gilgit Baltistan
c. Northern Area
d. Both b and c are the same
e. None of the above

ANSWER: Both b and c are the same
Gilgit Baltistan: PakPakistan is planning to declare the strategic Gilgit-Baltistan region as its fifth Province.

This is a move that may raise concerns in India as it borders the disputed Pakistan-occupied Kashmir.

Pakistan’s Minister for inter-provincial coordination on 14th March 2017 indicated that a committee headed by Advisor of Foreign Affairs Sartaj Aziz had proposed giving the status of a Province to Gilgit-Baltistan.

A constitutional amendment would be made to change the status of the region, through which the $46 billion China-Pakistan Economic Corridor passes.

JKLF has warned Pakistan against changing status of Gilgit-Baltistan

Gilgit-Baltistan is treated as a separate geographical entity by Pakistan.

It has a regional Assembly and an elected Chief Minister.

It is held that China’s concerns about its unsettled status prompted the move, which could signal a historic shift in the country’s position on the future of the wider Kashmir region.

All About Gilgit Baltistan Region
  • Gilgit-Baltistan, formerly known as the Northern Areas, is the northernmost administrative territory of Pakistan.
  • Area: 72,971 km²
  • Founded: 1 July 1970
  • Government body: Gilgit-Baltistan Legislative Assembly
  • Capital: Gilgit

Post your comment / Share knowledge

Enter the code shown above:
(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above image, reload the page to generate a new one.)