Google Translate launches new avatar

Q.  Which languages can experience offline translations due to Google Translate updates, of these as of Sept 13, 2017?
- Published on 14 Sep 17

a. Urdu
b. Marathi
c. Tamil
d. All of the above

ANSWER: All of the above
Google Translate launches new avatarGoogle on Sept 12, 2017 unveiled several updates to its Translate App in an effort to bring down language barriers.

It said users in Tamil, Kannada, Telugu, Urdu, Bengali, Gujarati and Marathi can experience offline translations and instant visual translation in their preferred language.

The biggest application is that they are breaking language barriers.

Google Translate has also added support for conversation mode in regional languages including Tamil and Bengali.

This feature lets users have a bilingual conversation with someone, simply by talking to the Google Translate app.

Google Translate: Know More
  • India is among the top four countries globally using Google Translate which translates over 140 billion words every day.
  • More than 400 million people in India used the Internet.
  • But the vast majority of India’s online content is in English, which only 20% of the country’s population speaks.
  • The Translate app already lets the user use camera mode to snap a photo of English text and get a translation for it in these languages.
  • Now, with Word Lens feature, Google has taken it to the next level, letting users instantly translate text using their camera.
  • The company said now it was way easier for speakers of local Indian languages to understand English street signs in the city or decide what to order from a restaurant menu.
  • Word Lens is powered by machine learning, using computer vision to distinguish between letters on an image.
  • With the company's Google Translate, users can easily turn their phone into a powerful translation tool, whether for studies, business, travel or work.
  • Offline support enables Indian language users to translate a word or sentence even when they are not connected to the Internet.

Post your comment / Share knowledge

Enter the code shown above:
(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above image, reload the page to generate a new one.)