Indian shooter Heena Sidhu continues terrific form, wins gold

Q.  Which of the following are India's leading shooters and winner at Commonwealth Shooting Championships 2017?
- Published on 03 Nov 17

a. Jitu Raj
b. Heena Sidhu
c. Joshna Chinnappa
d. Both a and c
e. Both a and b

ANSWER: Both a and b
Indian shooter Heena Sidhu continues terrific form, wins goldShooter Heena Sidhu continued her terrific form this year winning gold in the women's 10m Air Pistol event at the Commonwealth Shooting Championships, Brisbane on 30th Oct 2017.

She scored 240.8 in the final to beat Australian Elena Galiabovitch, who shot 238.2 to settle for silver. Bronze went to Kristy Gillman (213.7) of Australia.

London Olympic bronze-medallist Gagan Narang finished fourth in the same event, while Ravikumar ended fifth.

Narang shot 626.2 in the qualification to create Commonwealth record.

Sidhu in October 2017, paired with Jitu Rai at the ISSF World Cup final in New Delhi had won gold for India.

The pair had finished with 483.4 points to beat France with 481.1.

This was her third gold with Rai after the duo had claimed the top spots in the same event at the ISSF World Cup in Delhi in February and ISSF World Cup Rifle/Pistol series in Gabala, Azerbaijan.

In May, she had won bronze in the women's 10 air pistol event at the Grand Prix of Liberation Plaza Shooting Championships in the Czech Republic, shooting 218.8 in the eight-woman final, in an event won by Rio Olympic gold and bronze medalist Anna Korakaki of Greece.

Post your comment / Share knowledge

Enter the code shown above:
(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above image, reload the page to generate a new one.)