Ireland's government wins confidence motion by 5 votes

Q.  Which government won the motion of confidence with just 5 votes?
- Published on 17 Feb 17

a. Irish
b. Scottish
c. British
d. None of the above

IrelandThe Government has won its motion of confidence in the Dáil by just five votes - 57 to 52, with 44 abstentions - after a series of terse exchanges between Fine Gael, Fianna Fáil and Sinn Féin.

Fianna Fáil abstained in the vote.

Sinn Féin, Labour, Anti-Austerity Alliance-People Before Profit, Independents4Change, Social Democrats, Green Party and Independents Michael FitzMaurice, Mattie McGrath and Michael Collins voted against the Irish Government.

The Government’s confidence motion was in response to a Sinn Féin motion of no confidence in the Coalition.

Taoiseach Enda Kenny sharply attacked Sinn Féin as the Dáil debate on the motion kicked off.

Sinn Féin tabled the motion over the handling of sex crime allegations against Irish police whistleblower Maurice McCabe.

The party accused the government of covering up "who knew what and when."

Sgt McCabe and now retired John Wilson previously alleged there was corruption with the Republic of Ireland's driving licence penalty points system.

The Garda (Irish police) commissioner denied telling journalists that Sgt McCabe was facing sex crime allegations.

The claim against Nóirín O'Sullivan was made by Irish Labour Party leader Brendan Howlin in the Dáil (Irish parliament).

Post your comment / Share knowledge

Enter the code shown above:
(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above image, reload the page to generate a new one.)