Legislative Council in 7 states.

Q.  Which of the following has/have the Legislative Council?
1) Telangana
2) Tamil Nadu
3) Madhya Pradesh

- Published on 20 Sep 16

a. 1, 2, 3
b. 2, 3
c. 1
d. None of the above

  • At present, only 7 states have two Houses (bicameral). These are Andhra Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Maharashtra, Karnataka and Jammu and Kashmir.
  • The Tamil Nadu Legislative Council Act, 2010 has not come into force. The Legislative Council in Andhra Pradesh was revived by the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council Act, 2005.
  • The 7th Amendment Act of 1956 provided for a Legislative Council in Madhya Pradesh.
  • However, a notification to this effect has to be made by the President. So far, no such notification has been made. Hence, Madhya Pradesh continues to have one House only.

Post your comment / Share knowledge

Enter the code shown above:
(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above image, reload the page to generate a new one.)