List of high courts in India

Q.  Which of the following are true regarding High Courts in India?

1) First High Court in India was established in 1862.
2) There are only 3 High Courts common to two or more states.
3) Lately, Mizoram got its own High Court.
4) India has 24 High Courts.

- Published on 09 Mar 17

a. 1, 2, and 4
b. 1, 2 and 3
c. 1 and 3
d. All of the above

ANSWER: 1, 2, and 4
  • In a state judiciary consists of a High Court and a hierarchy of subordinate courts.

  • The High Court is at the top in the judicial administration of a state.

  • The institution of High Court originated in India in 1862.

  • In 1862 the High Courts were set up at Calcutta, Bombay and Madras.

  • In 1866, a High Court was established at Allahabad.

  • After 1950, a High Court in a province became the High Court for the corresponding state.

  • The Constitution of India provides for a High Court for each state.

  • However, the 7th Amendment Act of 1956 authorized the Parliament to establish a common High Court for two or more states or for two or more states and a Union Territory.

  • The territorial jurisdiction of a High Court is co-terminus with the territory of a state.

  • The Parliament can extend the jurisdiction of a High Court to any Union Territory or exclude the jurisdiction of a High Court from any Union Territory.

  • Articles 214 to 231 in Part 6 of the Constitution talk of organization, independence etc., of the High Courts.

  • There are 24 High Courts in India currently.

  • 3 are common High Courts.

  • Union Territories fall under the jurisdiction of different State High Courts.

  • Delhi is the only UT with High Court of its own. It has High Court since 1966.
Court nameEstablishedJurisdictionJurisdictionSeat
Allahabad High Court11 June 1866Uttar PradeshAllahabad
Madras High Court15 August 1862Puducherry, Tamil NaduChennai
Chhattisgarh High Court1 November, 2000ChhattisgarhBilaspur
Delhi High Court31 October ,1966National Capital Territory of DelhiNew Delhi
Guwahati High Court1 March, 1948Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Mizoram, NagalandGuwahati
Gujarat High Court1 May, 1960GujaratAhmedabad
High Court of Judicature at Hyderabad5 July, 1954Andhra Pradesh, TelanganaHyderabad
Himachal Pradesh High Court1971Himachal PradeshShimla
J&K High Court28 August, 1943Jammu and KashmirSrinagar/Jammu
Jharkhand High Court15 Nov, 2000JharkhandRanchi
Karnataka High Court1884KarnatakaBengaluru
Kerala High Court1956Kerala, LakshadweepKochi
Kolkata High Court2 July, 1862Andaman and Nicobar Islands, West BengalKolkata
Madhya Pradesh High Court2 January, 1936Madhya PradeshJabalpur
Manipur High Court25 March, 2013ManipurImphal
Meghalaya High Court23 March, 2013MeghalayaShillong
Mumbai High Court14 August, 1862Goa, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu, MaharashtraMumbai
Odisha High Court3 April, 1948OdishaCuttack
Patna High Court2 September, 1916BiharPatna
Punjab and Haryana High Court15 August, 1947Chandigarh, Haryana, PunjabChandigarh
Rajasthan High Court21 June, 1949RajasthanJodhpur
Sikkim High Court16 May, 1975SikkimGangtok
Tripura High Court26 March, 2013TripuraAgartala
Uttarakhand High Court9 November, 2000UttarakhandNainital

Post your comment / Share knowledge

Enter the code shown above:
(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above image, reload the page to generate a new one.)