Michael Phelps of the US wins same event at 4 consecutive Olympic games

Q.  Who has won his 22nd gold medal and become the first swimmer to win the same event at 4 consecutive Games?
- Published on 16 Aug 16

a. Michael Phelps
b. Ian Thorpe
c. Ryan Lochte
d. Mark Spitz

ANSWER: Michael Phelps
Michael Phelps of the United States won the Olympic 200m individual medley on 11th August to capture the 22nd gold medal of his career and became the first swimmer to win the same event at four consecutive Games.
  • Japan’s Kosuke Hagino won Silver and Wang Shun of China won the bronze moving dramatically through the field on the final length after turning in fifth and seventh place.
  • Phelps has now won 2 individual and 2 relay golds at his 5th Olympics, two years after coming out of retirement.
  • His total medal haul has now risen to 26 including two bronzes and three silvers.
  • Phelps has attained 4 consecutive golds in the same event placing him in the same Olympic pantheon as Al Oerter in the discus and Carl Lewis in the long jump.

Post your comment / Share knowledge

Enter the code shown above:
(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above image, reload the page to generate a new one.)