MS Dhoni to step down from T-20 and ODI captaincy

Q.  Which formats of the game has cricket captain MS Dhoni announced his resignation from captaincy on 4th Jan 2017?
- Published on 05 Jan 17

a. T-20
b. ODI
c. Tests
d. Only a and b
e. All the above

ANSWER: Only a and b
MS Dhoni to step down from T-20 and ODI captaincyMS Dhoni has informed the BCCI of his decision to step down as the captain of the Indian Cricket Team from the One Day Internationals and the T20 Internationals formats of the game.

Dhoni will however, be available for selection in ODI and T20 format. The decision of how long he would be captain of the limited over squads in light of Virat Kohli's success in the longer format was being debated.

Mr Rahul Johri, CEO of the BCCI appreciated how under Dhoni, Indian team has touched new heights and his achievements will remain etched forever in the annals of Indian cricket.

Dhoni gave up Test Captaincy in Dec 2014 when he retired from the format after the Melbourne Test. However, he stayed on as ODI and T20 international captain after having taken on those roles in 2007.

Although the next captain was not announced, Virat Kohli, currently captaining the Test team, will take over the mantle.

Dhoni has phenomenal success as a limited overs captain, winning the World T20 (2007), the ICC World Cup (2011) and the Champions Trophy in 2013.

He also holds the record for most matches as captain of an international side, with 331 games across formats.

He is also the only player to have captained more than 50 matches in each of the three formats apart from being the only captain to win all three ICC Trophies-World Cup, WT20 and Champions Trophy.

He debuted in 2004 internationally. He was named captain of T20 side in 2007. He became ODI captain after Rahul Dravid relinquished his post.

He became the Test Captain after the retirement of Anil Kumble.

Record of Dhoni's wins
  • Tests: 27 Wins /60 Matches.
  • ODIs: 110 Wins /199 Matches.
  • T20s: 41 Wins /72 Matches.

Post your comment / Share knowledge

Enter the code shown above:
(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above image, reload the page to generate a new one.)