Muhammad Ali honoured with first Jesse Owns Olympic Spirit award

Q.  The first Jesse Owen Olympic Spirit Award will honour which boxing legend?
- Published on 26 Sep 16

a. Muhammad Ali
b. Cassius Clay
c. Mike Tyson
d. Both a and b

ANSWER: Both a and b
The first Jesse Owens Olympic Spirit Award will recognise the late legendary boxer Muhammad Ali.
Owens award was started in 2016
  • It marks the 80th anniversary of Jesse Owen’s 4 gold medal performance at the 1936 Olympics in Berlin
  • It is going to honour people who have served as an inspiration
  • Granddaughter of the famous athlete Jesse Owens, Margaret Dotch will present the award at the next week’s Best of the Games award ceremony to Ali’s wife Lonnie
  • Ali won the gold medal at the Rome 1960 Olympics
  • He also took 3 world heavyweight championships in 1964, 1974 and 1978
  • James Cleveland Jesse Owens was an American track and field athlete who crushed Hilterian myth of Aryan supremacy
  • He was the most successful athlete at the games
  • He set three world records and tied another in less than an hour at 1935 Big Ten Track meet in Ann Arbour Michigan, called the “greatest 45 minutes ever in sports”
  • His record has never been equalled
  • At the 1936 Olympics in Berlin, he won 4 gold medals including 100 and 200m long jump

Post your comment / Share knowledge

Enter the code shown above:
(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above image, reload the page to generate a new one.)