Mukta Dutta Tomar is India's ambassador to Germany

Q.  Who has been named India's ambassador to Germany w.e.f 10th April, 2017?
- Published on 11 Apr 17

a. Vijay Mohan Khwatra
b. Mukta Dutta Tomar
c. Pradeep Rawat
d. Santosh Jha

ANSWER: Mukta Dutta Tomar
Mukta Dutta Tomar is IndiaMukta Dutta Tomar, an IFS officer of 1984 batch, has been named the country’s next ambassador to Germany.

She was serving as an additional secretary at the headquarters.

Vinay Mohan Kwatra, a 1988-batch Indian Foreign Service (IFS) officer and joint secretary in the Prime Minister’s Office (PMO), is likely to be the country’s next envoy to France.

He will succeed Mohan Kumar who is retiring from service.

Pradeep Rawat, who is the joint secretary of East Asia at present, will be the next envoy to Indonesia.

He will succeed Nengcha Lhouvum Mukhopadhaya, who will retire from service.

Santosh Jha, another joint secretary at the headquarters, will be the next deputy chief of mission in Washington.

He is succeeding Taranjit Sandhu, who has taken over as Indian envoy to Sri Lanka.

MEA: Know More
  • Website:
  • Formed: 2 September 1946
  • Jurisdiction: India
  • Headquarters: South Block, Cabinet Secretariat, Raisina Hill, New Delhi, 110 011
  • Cabinet minister: Sushma Swaraj
  • Minister of state: Vijay Kumar Singh, M J Akbar
  • Key executive: Subrahmanyam Jaishankar, Foreign Secretary (India)

Post your comment / Share knowledge

Enter the code shown above:
(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above image, reload the page to generate a new one.)