National Capital Territory of Delhi, Elementary education right, etc.

Q.  Match the amendments to its provisions correctly.
A. 69th1. Acceptance of resignation of the members of Parliament.
B. 86th2. Article 21A.
C. 33rd3. Special status to the Union Territory of Delhi.
D. 27th4. Ordinances by administrators of certain UTs.

- Published on 23 Feb 17

a. A-1, B-3, C-2, D-4
b. A-3, B-2, C-1, D-4
c. A-1, B-3, C-4, D-2
d. A-2, B-4, C-3, D-1

ANSWER: A-3, B-2, C-1, D-4
    69th Amendment Act, 1991 -

    a. It accorded a special status to the Union Territory of Delhi by designing it as the National Capital Territory of Delhi.

    b. The amendment also provided for the creation of a 70-member legislative assembly and a 7-member council of ministers for Delhi.
  • 70th Amendment Act, 1992 provided for the inclusion of the members of the Legislative Assemblies of National Capital Territory of Delhi and the Union Territory of Puducherry in the electoral college for the election of the president.

  • 86th Amendment Act, 2002 -

    a. It made elementary education a fundamental right.

    b. The newly added Article 21A declares that ‘the State shall provide free and compulsory education to all children of the age of six to fourteen years in such manner as the State may determine’.

    c. It changed the subject matter of Article 45 in Directive Principles of State Policy.

    d. It now reads - ‘The State shall endeavor to provide early childhood care and education for all children until they complete the age of six years’.

    e. It also added a new fundamental duty under Article 51A which is - ‘It shall be the duty of every citizen of India who is a parent or guardian to provide opportunities for education to his child or ward between the age of six and fourteen years’.

  • 33rd Amendment Act, 1974 provided that the resignation of the members of Parliament and the state legislatures may be accepted by the Speaker/Chairman only if he is satisfied that the resignation is voluntary or genuine.

  • 27th Amendment, 1971 -

    a. Empowered the administrators of certain union territories to promulgate ordinances.

    b. Made certain special provisions for new Union Territories of Arunachal Pradesh and Mizoram.

    c. Authorized the Parliament to create the legislative assembly and the council of ministers for the new state of Manipur.

Post your comment / Share knowledge

Enter the code shown above:
(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above image, reload the page to generate a new one.)