National observer appointed for Olympics

Q.  Who has been appointed as a national observer among these?
- Published on 22 Mar 17

a. Heena Sindhu
b. PT Usha
c. Sanjeev Kumar Singh
d. Both b and c
e. All the above

ANSWER: Both b and c
National observer appointed for Olympics
Sports DisciplineNational Observer
AthleticsPT Usha

Anju Bobby George
ArcheryDr Sanjeev Kumar Singh
BadmintonAparna Popat
BoxingMary Kom

Akhil Kumar
HockeyJagbir Singh
ShootingAbhinav Bindra
TennisSomdev Devvarman
WeightliftingKarnam Malleshwari
WrestlingSushil Kumar
FootballI M Vijayan
SwimmingKhajan Singh
Table TennisKamlesh Mehta

Apart from providing inputs for their respective disciplines, the National Observers would also to be consulted as a group on cross cutting issues impacting sports development in the country.

The National Observers would be playing a key role in the implementation of action plans for Mission Olympics 2020, 2024 and 2028.

On 30 January 2017, the government constituted a Task Force to prepare an action plan for 2020, 2024 and 2028 Olympic games.

On 5 February 2017, the foundation stone of the boundary wall of the first-ever Centre of Excellence for differently-abled sportsmen was laid at Sector-25 in Gandhinagar, Gujarat.

On 10 February 2017, the Mission XI Million initiative was launched to promote football among school children.

On 14 March 2017, Hockey India announced the appointment of four new Scientific Advisors for men and women, both senior and junior teams.

Post your comment / Share knowledge

Enter the code shown above:
(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above image, reload the page to generate a new one.)