NSFA implemented in 11 states

Q.  In how many states/union territories the National Food Security Act, 2013 (NFSA) has been implemented?
- Published on 27 Feb 15

a. 28
b. 20
c. 8
d. 11

Allocation of foodgrains to 11 States/Union Territories (UTs) namely, Bihar, Chandigarh, Chhattisgarh, Delhi, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Punjab and Rajasthan has started under the Act based on the preparedness and identification of beneficiaries for coverage under the Act, reported by them. NFSA provides for coverage of upto 75% of the rural population and upto 50% of the urban population of the country for receiving foodgrains at subsidized prices under Targeted Public Distribution System (TPDS), corresponding to which State-wise coverage has been determined by the Planning Commission.

Post your comment / Share knowledge

Enter the code shown above:
(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above image, reload the page to generate a new one.)