Pakistan declares unilateral moratorium on nuclear testing

Q.  What was the series of nuclear tests conducted by Pakistan in 1998 called?
- Published on 19 Dec 16

a. Chagai-I test series
b. Kirana-I test series
c. Pokhran-II test series
d. None of the above

ANSWER: Chagai-I test series
Pakistan declares unilateral moratorium on nuclear testingPakistan has declared a unilateral moratorium on nuclear testing according to the Deputy Permanent representative to the UN Nabeel Munir.

The states should prevent WMDs proliferation to states as well as non-state actors, according to Munir at the UNSC debate.

Listing the steps taken by Pakistan to fulfil its non-proliferation obligations, he stated that Pakistan has elaborated and implemented a comprehensive export control regime harmonised with the NSG/Nuclear Suppliers Group and MTCR/Missile Technology Control Regime.

The Pakistani representative also said the country has been forthcoming on translating this into a bilateral arrangement on non testing with India.

He also added that Pakistan’s credentials clearly establish its eligibility to become an NSG member.

The grant of waivers to long held proliferation norms and rule carries obvious proliferation risks and undermines regional strategic stability.

The Pakistani representative also said an equitable, non discriminatory and criteria based approach to promote civil nuclear cooperation and membership of export control regimes in particular of the NSG is adopted.

Chagai I
  • Country: Pakistan
  • Test site: Ras Koh, Pakistan
  • Period: 1998
  • Number of tests: 1
  • Test type: underground tunnel
  • Max. yield: 32 kilotonnes of TNT (130 TJ)
  • Next test series: Chagai II

Post your comment / Share knowledge

Enter the code shown above:
(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above image, reload the page to generate a new one.)