Peter Thomson elected UNGA president for 71st session

Q.  Who has been elected UNGA President for 71st session?
- Published on 16 Jun 16

a. Peter Smith
b. Peter Jones
c. Peter McClelland
d. None of the above

ANSWER: None of the above
The United Nations General Assembly (UNGA) on 13 June 2016 elected Peter Thomson, Permanent Representative of Fiji, as President of its upcoming 71st session.
  • Thomson was elected in a rare secret ballot vote.
  • He defeated Andreas Mavroyiannis of Cyprus by a secret-ballot vote of 94 to 90, with one abstention.
  • The Fiji representative will replace current General Assembly President Mogens Lykketoft.

Post your comment / Share knowledge

Enter the code shown above:
(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above image, reload the page to generate a new one.)