Sania Mirza recommended for Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award, India's highest sporting honour

Q.  On 11th Aug’15, Sania Mirza became the second tennis player to be recommended for the prestigious Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award. Name the tennis player who was the first to won this award?
- Published on 28 Aug 15

a. Leander Paes
b. Mahesh Bhupati
c. Ajay Padukone
d. Sorabjit Sen

ANSWER: Leander Paes
Sania is only the second tennis player after Leander Paes to be named for the top award. Paes had been bestowed the honour way back in 1996 after his bronze medal in the Atlanta Olympics. The Hyderabadi girl had won the Arjuna award in 2004. In 2006, she was bestowed the Padma Shri the country's fourth highest civilian honour.

Post your comment / Share knowledge

Enter the code shown above:
(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above image, reload the page to generate a new one.)