SC removes Anurag Thakur as BCCI president

Q.  Who has been removed as BCCI president on Jan 2, as per an SC order?
- Published on 03 Jan 17

a. Sharad Pawar
b. Anurag Thakur
c. Lalit Modi
d. None of the above

ANSWER: Anurag Thakur
SC removes Anurag Thakur as BCCI presidentSC on 2nd Jan 2016 removed Anurag Thakur as President of BCCI for not complying with orders and also issued notices by contempt and perjury cases should not be lodged against him.

The court also ordered the removal of Ajay Shirke as BCCI Secretary and slapped show cause notice on him as well.

Senior most vice president of the BCCI will chair meetings till the names of administrators are decided.

Thakur and Shirke will now have to respond for lying under oath to scuttle reforms of the Lodha committee.

Lodha committee submitted three reports before SC which were accepted by the SC in its July 18, 2016 order.

The Justice RM Lodha Committee's recommendations for a revamp of the BCCI were also taken into serious consideration, with the SC disqualifying all the board and its state association office bearers who have failed to meet the new norms set by the panel.

The SC will replace the top brass of the BCCI with a new panel of administrators, also to be decided on January 19.

The SC appointed senior advocates Fali S Nariman and Gopal Subramaniam as amicus curiae and asked them to suggest the names of those deemed capable of administering the BCCI.

The SC has said Anurag Thakur may face a jail term if he was found guilty of lying under oath in an attempt to obstruct the Lodha Committee reforms, but reserved its order on a verdict.

BCCI: Know More
  • Headquarters: Mumbai
  • Sponsor: Star India
  • Founded: December 1928
  • Regional affiliation: Asian Cricket Council
  • Operating income: 1.669 billion INR (2015, US$25 million)

Post your comment / Share knowledge

Enter the code shown above:
(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above image, reload the page to generate a new one.)