Shashank Manohar appointed ICC independent chairman

Q.  Which cricket administrator has been elected as ICC”s first independent chairman?
- Published on 16 May 16

a. Shashank Manohar
b. Jagmohan Dalmiya
c. Aniil Kumble
d. Ravi Shastri

ANSWER: Shashank Manohar
Veteran cricket administrator Shashank Manohar has been elected unopposed as ICC’s first independent chairman, two days after he stepped down from the post of BCCI President.
  • The 58-year-old was elected to the post after the ICC Full Council’s approval of constitutional amendments proposed by the Board following its April meeting.
  • Manohar recently resigned as the President of the Board of Control for Cricket in India, is the first elected independent Chairman of the game’s governing body and will commence his two-year term with immediate effect.
  • According to the election process, ICC directors were each allowed to nominate one candidate, who had to be either a present or past ICC director.
  • Nominees with the support of two or more Full Member directors would have been eligible to contest the election, which was scheduled to have been concluded by May 23.

Post your comment / Share knowledge

Enter the code shown above:
(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above image, reload the page to generate a new one.)