Tribal areas in Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura & Mizoram

Q.  Under provisions of the 6th Schedule, which of the following areas are considered Tribal Areas?

1) Chakma District.
2) Lai District.
3) Bodoland Territorial Areas District.
4) North Cachar Hills District.
5) Karbi Anglong District.

- Published on 10 Mar 17

a. 1, 2, 4 and 5
b. 2, 3 and 4
c. 2 and 3 only
d. All of the above

ANSWER: All of the above
  • Sixth Schedule in Constitution of India contains special provisions to help administration of tribal areas of the four north-eastern states - Assam, Tripura, Meghalaya and Mizoram.

  • As per M. P. Jain -

    1. The tribes in Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura and Mizoram have not assimilated much the life and ways of the other people in these states.

    2. These areas have hitherto been anthropological specimens.

    3. The tribal people in other parts of India have more or less adopted the culture of the majority of the people in whose midst they live.

    4. The tribes in Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura and Mizoram, on the other hand, still have their roots in their own culture, customs and civilization.

    5. These areas are, therefore, treated differently by the Constitution and sizeable amount of autonomy has been given to these people for self-government.

    Tribal areas in these 4 states are as follows -

    Assam -

    1. The North Cachar Hills District.

    2. The Karbi Anglong District.

    3. The Bodoland Territorial Areas District.

    Tripura -

    1. Tripura Tribal Areas District.

    Mizoram -

    1. The Chakma District.

    2. The Mara District.

    3. The Lai District.

    Meghalaya -

    1. Khasi Hills District.

    2. Jaintia Hills District.

    3. The Garo Hills District.

Post your comment / Share knowledge

Enter the code shown above:
(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above image, reload the page to generate a new one.)