Trivendra Singh Rawat - New CM of Uttarakhand

Q.  BJP has picked Trivendra Singh Rawat as the new CM of __________
- Published on 20 Mar 17

a. Manipur
b. Goa
c. Uttar Pradesh
d. Uttarakhand

ANSWER: Uttarakhand
The BJP has picked Trivendra Singh Rawat as the CM candidate in Uttarakhand.

Rawat was elected the legislature party leader by party MLAs on March 17, 2017.

Rawat defeated INC's Hira Singh Bhisht in Doiwala with a margin of 24,000 votes.

This has the third win in the constituency when elections were contested since 2002.

Rawat is a Thakur leader with strong RSS roots. He was RSS pracharak from 1983 to 2002.

He held several important positions in the Sangh.

Rawat holds a master's degree in journalism.

During the 2014 LS elections, Rawat was given the responsibility of regional election in-charge in UP under Shah. Where BJP emerged victorious.

Overseeing the BJP affairs in Jharkhand, he took over the party to victory in Assembly polls.

BJP registered a landslide victory in Uttarakhand. It won 57 of 70 seats.

This was the biggest win by any party in the state ever. The party won around 46.5 % of the votes.

Uttarakhand: Know More
  • Land area: 53,483 km²
  • Founded: November 8, 2000
  • Population: 10.08 million (2012)
  • Capitals: Dehradun, Nainital (Judiciary)

Post your comment / Share knowledge

Enter the code shown above:
(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above image, reload the page to generate a new one.)