Uighur Muslim names banned in China

Q.  Which Muslim majority region in China is home to the Uighur ethnic minority?
- Published on 26 Apr 17

a. Xinjiang
b. Dunhuang
c. Fengtai
d. Xicheng

ANSWER: Xinjiang
Uighur Muslim names banned in China China has banned Islamic names for babies in Muslim-majority Xinjiang region, home to the Muslim Uighur ethnic minority.

According to the move, children with the banned names like Saddam or Midina will not be able to get a residence permit called “hukou”, which is required for access to medical and educational services.

This is just the latest in a slew of new regulations restricting religious freedom in the name of countering religious extremism, as per Human Rights Watch.

The Xinjiang government claims the names were banned because of their religious connotation, which can “exaggerate religious fervour”.

On April 1, the authorities in Xinjiang had also imposed new rules banning “abnormal” beards or a full veil and warned people of punishments for refusing to watch state TV or radio programmes.

Conflicts between the Uighur and the Han, the majority ethnic group in China and who also control the government, are common.

Beijing usually attributes the violence to Islamist groups and secessionists whereas Uighur groups in exile consider the conflict to be a result of repression by the Communist regime.

Xinjiang: Know More
  • Area: 1.665 million km²
  • Population: 21.81 million (2010)
  • Largest city: Ürümqi
  • Language: Uyghurs
  • Major Colleges and Universities: Xinjiang University, Shihezi University

Post your comment / Share knowledge

Enter the code shown above:
(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above image, reload the page to generate a new one.)