UNGA on 28th June 2016 elects 4 non permanent members

Q.  UNGA on 28th June 2016 selected whom as non-permanent members of the UNSC?
- Published on 30 Jun 16

a. Ethiopia
b. Bolivia
c. Sweden
d. All of the above
e. None of the above

ANSWER: All of the above
UNGA on 28th June 2016 elected Ethiopia, Sweden, Bolivia and Kazakhstan as non permanent members of the UNSC
  • The two year terms at the UNSCO of the new members will commence from January 1, 2016 and run through December 31, 2018
  • The 193 member of the UN Body conducted elections for 5 non-permanent seats
  • Third round of voting is going to take place for the final seat with Italy competing against the Netherlands
  • The newly elected countries will replace Spain, Malaysia, New Zealand, Angola and Venezeula
  • In the election of 5 nations, the member of the General Assembly voted by secret ballot for the 5 seats divided by geographical grouping- three from Africa and Asia Pacific region, one from Eastern Europe and one from Latin America and Caribbean
  • Bolivia and Ethiopia were chosen by their regional groups and had no competitors
  • Kazakhstan won the seat reserved for Asia Pacific against Thailand
  • Italy, The Netherlands and Sweden have competed for the two seats for Western Europe
  • Under the UN Charter, the Security Council has the primary responsibility for international peace and security with all UN Member States
  • Council’s 10 non permanent seats are allocated by a rotation pattern set by the UNGA since 1963 to ensure proportionate representation over time from different parts of the world

Post your comment / Share knowledge

Enter the code shown above:
(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above image, reload the page to generate a new one.)