Urdu is the second official language for Telangana

Q.  Which state has declared Urdu as its second official language in Nov 2017?
- Published on 14 Nov 17

a. Andhra Pradesh
b. Telangana
c. Kerala
d. Karnataka

ANSWER: Telangana
Urdu is the second official language for TelanganaTelangana Chief Minister K Chandrashekhar Rao in the state assembly recently declared Urdu as the state's second official language.

Now all government offices from the Chief Minister's office to District Collectorate will receive all petitions in Urdu also

Every office in Telangana will have an Urdu-speaking officer

All competitive examinations in the state will also be conducted in Urdu

Article 345 of the constitution speaks about the official language of the state. According to the Article 345 "Official language or languages of a State- subject to the provisions of articles 346 and 347, the legislature of a State may by law adopt any one or more of the languages in use in the State or Hindi as the Language or Languages to be used for all or any of the official purposes of that State.

Provided that, until the Legislature of the State otherwise provides by law, the English language shall continue to be used for those official purposes within the State for which it was being used immediately before the commencement of this Constitution.

Post your comment / Share knowledge

Enter the code shown above:
(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above image, reload the page to generate a new one.)