Vanaja N. Sarna appointed CBEC Chairman

Q.  Who has been appointed the new CBEC chairman?
- Published on 03 Apr 17

a. Vanaja N. Sarna
b. Navtej Sarna
c. Najib Shah
d. None of the above

ANSWER: Vanaja N. Sarna
Vanaja N. Sarna on March 31, 2017 was appointed as the new chairman of Central Board of Excise and Customs (CBEC), following retirement from service of incumbent Najib Shah, an official statement said.

Sarna, presently holding the charge as Member (Administration), has been appointed as Chairman, CBEC.

She is taking over on superannuation of Najib Shah (March 31).

Prior to becoming Member of the CBEC, she held the charge of Director General of Vigilance and Chief Vigilance Officer of the Department.

Sarna has served CBEC in several capacities over the last 36 years, including stints in customs, central excise and service tax formations in Kochi, Delhi, Chennai, Meerut, Chandigarh and Bangalore.

She has also worked as Additional Director General, National Academy of Customs, Excise & Narcotics (NACEN) in Chennai.

She was also Additional Director General in Directorate General of Revenue Intelligence, New Delhi.

She has served on deputation as Under Secretary, Legislative Department, Ministry of Law and as Director/Joint Secretary in the Rajya Sabha Secretariat.

Post your comment / Share knowledge

Enter the code shown above:
(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above image, reload the page to generate a new one.)