VVS Laxman gains entry into elite MCC club

Q.  Which Indian batsman is the fifth to be awarded the MCC honorary life membership?
- Published on 15 May 17

a. Sachin Tendulkar
b. Zaheer Khan
c. Rahul Dravid
d. VVS Laxman

VVS Laxman gains entry into elite MCC clubEx Indian batsman V V S Laxman on 11 May 2017 was awarded an honorary life membership to the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC).

He is the fifth Indian to receive the honour, after Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid, Sourav Ganguly and Zaheer Khan.

Born on 1 November 1974, Vangipurapu Venkata Sai Laxman is a former Indian cricketer. He was a right-hand aggressive batsman, who played mostly in the lower middle order.

He is significantly known for his numerous match-winning and saving innings. His knock of 281 against them in Eden Gardens in 2001 is often considered as the greatest ever test-innings.

In 2011, he was honoured with the Padma Shri award.

He is one of the few players who have played 100 Tests but have never played in a Cricket World Cup.

In 2002, he was named one of Wisden’s five Cricketers of the Year. In 2012, he retired from international cricket.

MCC: Know More
  • Marylebone Cricket Club is a London based cricket club.
  • It was founded in the year 1787.
  • It is located at Lord’s in St John’s Wood, London NW8.
  • It was formerly the governing body of cricket both in England and Wales as well as worldwide.
  • In 1993, many of its global functions were transferred to the International Cricket Council (ICC) and its English governance passed to the Test and County Cricket Board (TCCB) simultaneously.

Post your comment / Share knowledge

Enter the code shown above:
(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above image, reload the page to generate a new one.)