What are features of National Action Plan for Children, 2016?

Q.  Which of the following is/are true regarding National Action Plan for Children, 2016 (NPAC)?

1) The NPAC does not focus on online child abuse.
2) The NPAC 2016 is based on the principles embedded in the National Policy for Children 2013.

- Published on 25 Jan 17

a. Only 1
b. Only 2
c. Both 1 and 2
d. Neither 1 nor 2

ANSWER: Only 2
  • The National Action Plan for Children, 2016 (NPAC) has been developed by the Ministry of Women & Child Development.
  • The NPAC 2016 is based on the principles embedded in the National Policy for Children 2013(NPC 2013) and provides a road-map that links the policy objectives to actionable programmes and strategies as well as indicators for monitoring the progress.

  • It seeks to ensure the following -

  • The Action Plan has four key priority areas - survival, health and nutrition; education and development; protection and participation.
  • The NPAC defines objectives, sub-objectives, strategies, action points and indicators for measuring progress under the four key priority areas and also identifies key stakeholders for the implementation of different strategies.
  • The plan also puts focus on new and emerging concerns for children such as online child abuse, children affected by natural and man-made disasters and climate change, etc.
  • The strategies and action points largely draw upon the existing programmes and schemes of various Ministries/Departments.
  • However, for new and emerging issues related to children; it also suggests formulation of new programmes and strategies, as required.
  • The plan takes into account the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) and provides a roadmap towards achieving them though co-ordination and convergence with different stakeholders.
  • The National Policy for Children (2013) provides for formation of a National Co-ordination and Action Group (NCAG) under the Ministry of Women and Child Development to coordinate and implement the plan and monitor the progress with other Ministries concerned as its members.
  • The NPAC 2016 takes into account data disaggregated by rural and urban areas for key indicators.
  • Reducing maternal and neonatal mortality rates are key outcomes envisaged under Key Priority Area: Survival, Health and Nutrition.

Post your comment / Share knowledge

Enter the code shown above:
(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above image, reload the page to generate a new one.)