What is composition of Central Bureau of Investigation?

Q.  Committee which recommends appointment of CBI Director consists of which of the following?

1) Central Vigilance Commissioner.
2) Union Minister of Home Affairs.
3) Prime Minister.

- Published on 15 Mar 17

a. 1
b. 1, 3
c. 2, 3
d. All of the above

    Organization of CBI -

  • CBI Academy is located at Ghaziabad, Uttar Pradesh.

  • It started functioning in 1996.

  • CBI has the following divisions -

    (a) Anti-Corruption Division.

    (b) Administration Division.

    (c) Directorate of Prosecution.

    (d) Central Forensic Science Laboratory.

    (e) Economic Offences Division.

    (f) Special Crimes Division.

    (g) Policy and International Police Cooperation Division.

    Composition of CBI -

  • A Director heads the CBI.

  • A special director or an additional director assists the Director.

  • It has joint directors, deputy inspector generals, superintendents of police and all other usual ranks of police personnel.

  • It also has some law officers.

  • By the CVC Act of 2003, Director of CBI has been given security of tenure of 2 years.

  • Mechanism for the selection of the Director of CBI and other officers of the rank of SP and above in the CBI has also been given by the CVC Act of 2003.

  • The Director of CBI in role of the Inspector-General of Police, Delhi Special Police Establishment, is responsible for the administration of the Delhi Special Police Establishment.

  • By the CVC Act, 2003, the superintendence of Delhi Special Police Establishment now rests with the Union Government except investigations of offences which come under the Prevention of Corruption Act, 1988, in which, the superintendence still rests with the Central Vigilance Commission.

  • A committee recommends Union Government regarding Director of the CBI.

  • The committee consists of -

    (a) Central Vigilance Commissioner as Chairperson.

    (b) Vigilance Commissioners.

    (c) Secretary to the Government of India, Ministry of Home Affairs.

    (d) Secretary (Coordination and Public Grievances) in the Cabinet Secretariat.

Post your comment / Share knowledge

Enter the code shown above:
(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above image, reload the page to generate a new one.)