What is composition of Election Commission?

Q.  Which of the following is/are true regarding composition of Election Commission?

1) Constitution does not define strength of Election Commission.
2) Election Commission is a multi-members body.

- Published on 14 Mar 17

a. Only 1
b. Only 2
c. Both 1 and 2
d. None of the above

ANSWER: Both 1 and 2
    Composition of Election Commission -

    As per Article 324 -

    (a) The Election Commission shall consist of the Chief Election Commissioner and such number of other Election Commissioners, if any, as the President may from time to time fix.

    (b) President appoints the Chief Election Commissioner and other Election Commissioners.

    (c) When any other Election Commissioner is so appointed, the Chief Election Commissioner shall act as the Chairman of the Eection Commission.

    (d) The President may also appoint after consultation with the Election Commission such Regional Commissioners as he may consider necessary to assist the Election Commission in the performance of the functions conferred on the Commission.

    (e) President determines the service conditions and tenure of office of the Election Commissioners and the Regional Commissioners.

  • From 1950 to 1989, the Election Commission was a single member body consisting of the Chief Election Commissioner.

  • In October 1989, two more Election Commissioners were appointed by President.

  • This was to cope with the increased work of the Election Commission as voting age was lowered from 21 to 18 years.

  • Since then, the Election Commission became a multi-member body consisting of three Election Commissioners.

  • But in 1990 the Election Commission again became single member body as the 2 posts of Election Commissioners were abolished.

  • In 1993 again, the president appointed two more Election Commissioners.

  • Thus, presently, the Election Commission is a multi-member body consisting of three Election Commissioners.

  • All 3 Election Commissioners have equal powers and receive equal salary etc., which are similar to those of a judge of the Supreme Court.

  • The commission decides cases by majority, if there are different opinions.

  • The election commissioners hold office for a term of 6 years or until they attain the age of 65 years, whichever is earlier.

  • They can even resign at any time.

  • They can also be removed before the expiry of their term.

Post your comment / Share knowledge

Enter the code shown above:
(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above image, reload the page to generate a new one.)