What is composition of State Administrative Tribunal (CAT)

Q.  Which of the following is/are true regarding State Administrative Tribunals (SATs)?

1) Chairman of SAT is appointed by the respective State’s Governor.
2) Madhya Pradesh does not have SAT.

- Published on 16 Mar 17

a. Only 1
b. Only 2
c. Both 1 and 2
d. None of the above

ANSWER: Only 2
  • The Administrative Tribunals Act of 1985 empowers the Central Government to establish the State Administrative Tribunals (SATs) on specific request of the concerned State Governments.

  • So far (2013), the SATs have been set up in the nine states of Andhra Pradesh, Himachal Pradesh, Odisha, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Tamil Nadu, West Bengal and Kerala.

  • However, the Madhya Pradesh, Tamil Nadu and Himachal Pradesh Tribunals have since been abolished.

  • The Kerala Administrative Tribunal was set up with effect from 26th August, 2010.

  • Like the CAT, the SATs exercise original jurisdiction in relation to recruitment and all service matters of state government employees.

  • The Chairman, and members of the SATs are appointed by the President after consultation with the Governor of the state concerned.

  • The act also makes a provision for setting up of Joint Administrative Tribunal (JAT) for two or more states.

  • A JAT exercises all the jurisdiction and powers exercisable by the Administrative Tribunals for such states.

  • The Chairman and members of a JAT are appointed by the President after consultation with the Governors of the concerned states.

Post your comment / Share knowledge

Enter the code shown above:
(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above image, reload the page to generate a new one.)