What is order of precedence in Indian polity?

Q.  Which of the following is the correct order of precedence?

1) Chief Justice of India.
2) Former Prime Ministers.
3)Holders of Bharat Ratna decoration.
4)Deputy Prime Minister.

- Published on 03 Mar 17

a. 4 2 3 1
b. 1 2 4 3
c. 1 2 3 4
d. 4 1 2 3

ANSWER: 4 1 2 3
    Some of the entries in the table of precedence are as follows -

    1. President.

    2. Vice-President.

    3. Prime Minister.

    4. Governors of states within their respective states.

    5. Former presidents.

    A. Deputy Prime Minister.

    6. Chief Justice of India.

    Speaker of Lok Sabha.

    7. Cabinet Ministers of the Union.

    Chief Ministers of States within their respective States.

    Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission.

    Former Prime Ministers.

    Leaders of Opposition in Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha.

    7A. Holders of Bharat Ratna decoration.

    8. Ambassadors Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary and High Commissioners of Commonwealth countries accredited to India.

    Chief Ministers of States outside their respective States.

    Governors of States outside their respective States.

    9. Judges of Supreme Court.

    9A. Chairperson, Union Public Service Commission.

    Chief Election Commissioner.

    Comptroller and Auditor General of India.

    10. Deputy Chairman, Rajya Sabha.

    Deputy Chief Ministers of States.

    Deputy Speaker, Lok Sabha.

    Members of the Planning Commission.

    Ministers of State of the Union (and any other Minister in the Ministry of Defense for defense matters).

    11. Attorney General of India.

    Cabinet Secretary.

    Lieutenant Governors within their respective Union Territories.

Post your comment / Share knowledge

Enter the code shown above:
(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above image, reload the page to generate a new one.)