Which committees are related to electoral reforms?

Q.  Which of the following committees are related to electoral reforms?

1) K. Santhanam Committee.
2) Dinesh Goswami Committee.
3) Tankha Committee.
4) V. R. Rao Committee.
5) K. N. Sahaya Committee.

- Published on 17 Mar 17

a. 1, 2, 3, 5
b. 2, 4, 5
c. 2, 3
d. All of the above

ANSWER: 2, 3
    Committees Related To Electoral Reforms -

  • Various committees and commissions have examined India’s electoral system in detail.

  • They have analyzed the working of election machinery as well as election process and suggested reforms.

  • Some of the Committees are -

    a) Tarkunde Committee - It was appointed in 1974 by Jaya Prakash Narayan (JP). It was during his “Total Revolution” movement. This was an unofficial committee and it submitted its report in 1975.

    b) Dinesh Goswami Committee on Electoral Reforms (1990).

    c) Vohra Committee on the Nexus between Crime and Politics (1993).

    d) Indrajit Gupta Committee on State Funding of Elections (1998) - It upheld the reasoning for introduction of state funding of elections. It also said that state funding of elections is in public interest and constitutionally and legally justified.

    e) Law Commission of India Report on Reform of the Electoral Laws (1999).

    f) National Commission to Review the Working of the Constitution (2000-2002) - It was headed by M. N. Venkatachaliah.

    g) Election Commission of India Report on Proposed Electoral Reforms (2004).

    h) Second Administrative Reforms Commission of India Report on Ethics in Governance (2007) - It was headed by Veerappa Moily.

    i) Tankha Committee - It was appointed in 2010. It was to look into the whole gamut of the election laws and electoral reforms.

Post your comment / Share knowledge

Enter the code shown above:
(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above image, reload the page to generate a new one.)